You can use delete entries to hide any file on a computer when a layer is activated. For example, you can create a layer for Mozilla Firefox with delete the entries that hide the Internet Explorer shortcuts. When the Firefox layer is activated, the Internet Explorer shortcuts are hidden. If the Firefox layer is deactivated or deleted, the shortcuts are visible.
A delete entry is also added whenever a user deletes a file or a registry entry from the read-only sublayer. The files are not deleted, but they become delete entries in the writeable sublayer. If the layer is reset, the file is restored to the read-only sublayer. You can view a layer's delete entries to see if files from the read-only layer have been deleted.
To add a delete entry to a virtual software layer
The Delete Entries tab has a read-only and a writeable node for both files and registry entries. When you add a delete entry, make sure that you select the appropriate node. The writeable nodes have a System Delete List and a user-specific delete list. If you add a delete entry to the System Delete List, the delete entry is deleted for all users. If you add a delete entry to a specific user delete list, it is only deleted for that user. For example, if you specify a user delete entry for a desktop shortcut, it is only deleted for that user.
Rate this Article