The ability to reset an application layer provides the following benefits:
When an application layer is created, the application's data is stored in a read-only sublayer. When a user runs the application, all of the data that the application creates is saved in a writeable sublayer. When you reset the application layer, the data in the writeable sublayer is deleted and the read-only sublayer is maintained.
To reset an application layer
To create a new reset point
The Export layer before creating new reset point option creates a backup version of the layer with its original reset point. The Copy current user's settings to default user's settings area option merges the contents of the writeable sublayer. This option restores these settings when the layer is reset.