Replication causes data to be transferred or forwarded to another management server. Sites can have multiple replication partners, and any changes made on one partner are replicated to all sites.
Neither replication site overrides the other. Instead they compare what each site has, and if one site has a package or piece of content the other does not, then it is shared. If all LiveUpdate content and client packages match up, then nothing is exchanged.
The replication partners duplicate the following data:
Policies and groups (required bidirectional)
LiveUpdate content and client installation packages, if you specify these options (optional bidirectional)
Logs (optional bidirectional or unidirectional)
If you upgrade the management server on one site, you must upgrade the management server version on all sites. Replication does not occur if the database schema versions do not match.
Table: How the management server resolves conflicts between sites describes how the management server resolves conflicts if administrators change settings on the sites in a site farm.
Table: How the management server resolves conflicts between sites