On a Mac OS X system, the Create New Whole Disk User dialogue popup does not reset existing user's passphrase.
A user with the same name as an existing user cannot reset the passphrase.
For example, if user User A is an existing Whole Disk user, and the new passphrase is entered at the "Create New Whole Disk User" dialogue for User A, the passphrase will not be reset.
This issue is resolved in 10.3.0 MP2 (Build 9269). When a recovery token is used, the dialoge prompt to reset the user's passphrase will now reset the passphrase*.
If updating to this version is not immediately possible, if the username is changed to something that does not match any existing users, such as UserB, then the user will be added as an additional user and can then be used to authenticate the disk. Alternatively, if the existing user is first removed from the disk, then the same username can be used to reset.
*In 10.3.0 MP2, the Passphrase Reset dialoge box will show up twice. The end user can reset the user's passphrase with the first prompt, and cancel the second prompt, this will still reset the passphrase (see KB TECH207521 for more details - Fixed in Symantec Drive Encryption 10.3.1).
This article only applies to Mac OS X
Rate this Article
This is machine translated content
Login to Subscribe
Please login to set up your subscription.
Didn't find the article you were looking for? Try these resources.