Once you create a data source, you can modify certain aspects of the source configuration, functions, and queries. Before you modify a saved data source, you should carefully assess any unintended effects that your changes may have on your mail configuration.
Editing a data source can affect your system configuration as follows:
When a data source is disabled or deleted, the cache for that data source is cleared. The cache is then discarded and repopulated if the data source is enabled or added again in the future.
If you change a query or any setting that alters query results while mail is being processed, the directory data service discards the existing cache, and a new one is built as the messages are received.
If you reconfigure your LDAP settings to use a different directory type, you query data is not updated and therefore may become outdated. You must reconfigure all queries. You can alternately use the Restore Defaults option for each enabled function to populate the correct defaults for each query based on the new directory type.
Modifying or attempting to modify a data source so that functions are no longer available can affect your system as follows:
Disabling an authentication data source automatically disables the authentication query.
If this data source is configured for end-user quarantine, users are no longer able to log into the Control Center and access the end-user quarantine. The Administrator-only Quarantine field in the Quarantine Settings page is checked and cannot be edited unless a data source is made available. See Configuring Spam Quarantine for administrator-only access.
When an authentication source is deleted or disabled, quarantine address resolution no longer occurs for that source. Emails are no longer quarantined under a single account that is tied to a single address. See Setting up invalid recipient handling.
When an SMTP authentication source is disabled or deleted, SMTP authentication no longer occurs for that source. Users who attempt to send out mail through a queue that requires SMTP authentication are no longer able to do so.
Deleting or disabling a recipient validation source prevents the data directory from applying invalid recipient handling. You must have at least one data source configured for recipient validation to drop or reject invalid recipients. If your system is configured to drop or reject, you are not able to delete the last recipient validation data source.
Deleting or disabling all recipient validation sources affects the behavior of your directory harvest attack configuration. If there is not at least one recipient validation data source, directory harvest attack only acts upon non-local recipients, which are counted as invalid recipients for purposes of statistics. Directory harvest attack does not evaluate local messages since there is no directory data available for validation, and the system attempts to deliver all local messages normally.
Deleting or disabling an address resolution source prevents the resolution of alias addresses to the primary address, as well as the expansion of distribution lists for entries within that source.
Groups associated with a deleted or disabled data source are no longer available for selection in the Add Policy Groups page.
A routing data source cannot be deleted or disabled if an enabled domain is associated with the source. To modify or remove that data source you must first remove the domain associations using the Domains page.