When Symantec Endpoint Protection is installed on a new server, many of the preconfigured notification conditions are enabled by default. An upgrade to Symantec Endpoint Protection from a previous version, however, can affect which notification conditions are enabled by default. It can also affect their default settings.
The following notification conditions are enabled by default in a new installation of Symantec Endpoint Protection:
Client list changed
New client software
Over deployment issue
Paid license issue
Trialware license expiration
Virus definitions out-of-date
When an administrator upgrades the software from a previous version, all existing notification conditions from the previous version are preserved. However, existing New software package notification conditions become New client software notification conditions. The New client software condition has two settings that are not present in the New software package condition: Client package and Security definitions. When the software is upgraded, both of these settings are enabled for notification conditions of this type that are preserved across the upgrade. New client software notifications that are conditions created after the upgrade, however, have the Client package setting enabled and the Security definitions setting disabled by default.
When the Security definitions setting in the New client software notification condition is enabled, it may cause a large number of notifications to be sent. This situation can occur when there are many clients or when there are frequently scheduled security definition updates. If you do not want to receive frequent notifications about security definition updates, you can edit the notification condition to disable the Security definitions setting
Several notification conditions may have a new setting that did not appear in earlier versions: Send email to system administrators. If that setting is new for a notification condition, it is disabled by default for any existing condition of that type following the upgrade.
When a default notification condition type has not been added in a previous installation, that notification condition is added in the upgraded installation. However, the upgrade process cannot determine which default notification conditions may have been deleted deliberately by the administrator in the previous installation. With one exception, therefore, all of the following action settings are disabled in each default notification condition in an upgraded installation: Send email to system administrators, Log the notification, Run batch file, and Send email to. When all four of these actions are disabled, the notification condition is not processed, even though the condition itself is present. Administrators can edit the notification conditions to enable any or all of these settings.
Note that the New client software notification condition is an exception: it can produce notifications by default when it is added during the upgrade process. Unlike the other default notification conditions, both the Log the notification and the Send email to system administrators action settings are enabled for this condition.
If the previous version of the software does not support licenses, an Upgrade license expiration notification condition is enabled.
Some notification condition types are not available in previous versions of the software. Those notification conditions are enabled by default when the software is upgraded.