You may want to unassign a policy from a group or a location if you want to delete the policy permanently or save the policy to use for a later time.
For example, a specific group may have experienced problems after you introduced a new policy. If you want the policy to remain in the database, you can withdraw the policy instead of deleting it. If you withdraw a policy, it is automatically withdrawn from the groups and locations that you assigned it to. The number of locations that a policy is used for appears on the policy type Policies pane on the Policies page.
You must withdraw a policy or replace a policy from all groups and locations before you can delete it.
You can withdraw all policies in the Policies page from a location or group except for the following policies:
Virus and Spyware Protection
You can only replace them with another Virus and Spyware Protection policy or LiveUpdate policy.