If you are eligible for the upgrade, a notification banner appears in the console, starting 30 days before the upgrade. The banner provides a link to the upgrade readiness page, where you can find out more about the upgrade, review notifications, and take any required actions.
If you see any notifications in the upgrade readiness page, resolve them before the upgrade. Any computers with unresolved issues are not upgraded.
You can upgrade before the end of the 30-days preview window. However, once you click Upgrade Now, you can no longer access the console. Instead, you are automatically redirected to after your upgrade order is processed.
You have 30 days to prepare for the upgrade, after which you are upgraded automatically. During this period, you can use your credentials to sign into the portal in preview mode, which lets you familiarize yourself with the new interface and install test devices.
In preview mode, you can view your existing data as it syncs to , but you can't modify it until after the upgrade. All management tasks are disabled.
During the preview window, you can continue to perform these tasks in :
If you are a Symantec partner, you can sign up new customers. However, upgrade is not available for trial accounts or any accounts that do not have at least one computer enrolled.
Add new computers.
As a best practice, we recommend that you delay new enrollments until the upgrade is complete to make sure all the assets and events are in sync as part of the upgrade.
Update and delete computers.
Add, update, and delete policies, groups, and users.
Your assets are synced periodically and shown in .
Here are the few features that are removed in this upgrade:
The following security policy settings are not exposed in as they are now managed by default.
Local update host
The size of the updates has reduced considerably resulting in not requiring an on-premises host.
Reports that are not commonly used by the customers are not available anymore.
At the end of the preview window or when you click Upgrade Now, your upgrade order is sent for processing. Do not add new computers or perform any other tasks until the order is complete.
After the upgrade order is processed, the console is upgraded and you are redirected to the console on your next sign-in. You can no longer access the console. You can use your credentials to sign into the . However, if there are computers that are not ready for upgrade, you can continue to manage them in console with reduced functionality.
By default, the device upgrades start automatically 24 hrs after the console upgrade, based on the schedule in the System Policy that governs the device. But if you need to modify the upgrade schedule for some reason, you can do so from .
During the upgrade, your policies remain intact and devices continue to be protected.
In the Get Started wizard, you can:
Schedule device upgrades.
Watch a video to familiarize with the new user interface.
If required, you can change when and how devices are upgraded:
Change the update schedule settings in the System Policy.
By default, the devices are upgraded based on the schedule in the System Policy that is defined in . But if you don't want the devices to upgrade based on the defined schedule, you can change the schedule in .
The anytime option assures that the devices are upgraded as quickly as possible.
If you have selected the update disable option in the System Policy, the clients are upgraded automatically 30 days after the console is upgraded.
Postpone the start of automatic device upgrades in the Getting Started wizard.
You can postpone the device upgrades based on the settings in the System Policy to a time that is more convenient to you by up to 7 days.
Select the date and time to start the device upgrade. After that time, devices start to upgrade based on their System Policy's Update Schedule setting.
Manually upgrade individual devices on demand in the Groups, Users, Devices page > Managed Devices tab.
For example: A server may require an upgrade earlier than the scheduled upgrade. Or during automated upgrade, an individual device may fail to upgrade. Here after you fix the issue, you can immediately upgrade the device and protect it.
On the Managed Devices tab, find the device that you want to upgrade, press the chevron icon and then select Upgrade Now.
You can set the maximum time delay to upgrade the device giving users time to finish their work and prepare for the upgrade.
To complete the upgrade process, a restart of the device is required.
You can let users postpone the device restart giving them the opportunity to save their work and close any open applications, and then restart the device.
You can let users postpone the device restart to give them the opportunity to save their work and close any open applications before restarting the device.
This option can lead to delay in upgrading if the user cancels the restart or if the user is not with their device to save their work and restart. If there is no unsaved work, the device restarts automatically when the 5-minutes countdown time elapses.
We do not recommend letting users defer restart as it leaves the device in an unprotected state until the restart.
If you don't let users postpone the device restart, device restarts immediately and the 5-minutes countdown time may not be enough to save their work.
This option enforces that the devices are upgraded without delay and is recommended for the devices that do not have a user logged on to specify the restart.
Users receive a notification on their device about the client upgrade. They may be allowed to postpone the upgrade depending on the client upgrade settings in the System Policy. To complete the upgrade process, a device restart is required. Depending on the restart setting in the System Policy, user is either allowed to postpone the restart, giving them time to save their work, or device restarts immediately after a 5-minute countdown elapses.
Postponing the device restart delays the upgrade, leaving the device unprotected.
After the device restarts, you can check to see the security status of the client and ensure that it is protected.
A warning alert notification is sent if a device is not upgraded 7 days after the device upgrade start date.
A critical alert notification is sent if a device is not upgrade 30 days after the device upgrade start date.
After the devices are upgraded, you can view their status on the Groups, Users, and Devices page.
Here are a few settings that you must reconfigure post upgrade:
Configured scheduled reports
The system generated scheduled reports continue to behave as is.
Note that reports now only support a date range filter of up to 90 days, instead of 365 days.
Custom alert notification settings
System generated alert settings continue to behave as is.
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required.