If you have made backups of Symantec Web Gateway, you can restore an appliance in case of a critical problem with the Symantec Web Gateway software or appliance. You can restore a backup file of the same version or a later version than the version that runs on the appliance. For example, if an appliance runs version 5.0, you can restore a backup of version 5.0 or 5.1. But you cannot restore a backup from version 4.5. You can restore from a manual backup file or scheduled backup file.
When you upload a custom certificate, it is encrypted with an appliance identification and a secret key that is specific to that appliance. When you backup Symantec Web Gateway, the backup file contains this encrypted data. If you restore the backup on a different appliance, Symantec Web Gateway is not able to read the encrypted data because the appliance identification is different. Therefore, you must upload the custom certificate on the new appliance after you restore the backup.
To restore backups
In the Web GUI, click Administration > Configuration > Maintenance.
If you cannot access the Web GUI, reset access to the setup wizard using the Serial Console and run the setup wizard again.
In the dialog box, browse to the backup file and click Open.
Click one or more of the following options on the Restore Option page:
Network, Operating mode, Proxy
Check Network, operating mode and proxy configuration to restore from the backup file.
Uncheck Network, operating mode and proxy configuration not to restore from the backup file and retain the original configuration.
Check Central Management to restore the Central Management configuration tab from the backup file.
Uncheck Central Management not to restore from the backup file and include the original configuration.
No options selected
If none of the options are selected, the following configuration settings are restored:
End User Page
Policy and Service
Restores all of the items on the Update page.
Click Restore to start the restore process. A restore warning message appears.
Click OK to continue the restore process or click Cancel to cancel the restore.
The restore process message appears at the bottom of Restore Option page. The appliance restarts after the restoration process successfully completes.
Select one of the following options:
Saves the restored setting with accepted errors.
Reverts back to the original settings.
Reverts back to the original settings if Symantec Web Gateway detects an error during the restoration process.
When Symantec Web Gateway detects an error, a confirmation dialog lists all of the detected errors. You can determine whether to accept the errors and complete the restoration or revert to the original settings.
After the restore is complete, check the settings throughout the Web GUI to ensure that they are appropriate.
Imported Document ID: HOWTO54132
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe