When a project is finished, you publish it from the Workflow Designer to Workflow Server using the publishing wizard. Publishing is the act of moving the project from your test environment to your production environment so that it is ready to be run. The publishing wizard lets you publish to one or more Workflow Servers.
Every published project resides on Workflow Server.
The following checklist describes the steps for publishing.
Before you publish, your project must be valid and should be ready for a production environment.
Table: Process for publishing a project
Add the destination server to the task tray application.
Every published workflow resides in Workflow Server on a computer. This computer can be the local design computer, a designated Workflow Server, or some other computer. The destination computer must be added to the task tray application.
If the destination computer has already been added to the task tray application, you do not need to add it again.
Publishing format refers to the means by which you move a project to the destination server. You can view the publishing format options by clicking the publishing symbol in the toolbar of an open project in Workflow Designer.