The Package Service Settings page has a Remove automatic site assignments if they are unused for setting. This feature is activated for a package when you enable the Assign packages to package servers automatically with manual prestaging option on the Package Servers tab. An automatic site assignment is removed if an agent has not requested the package for a time period that exceeds the Remove automatic site assignments if they are unused for setting.
If you check the option to remove automatic site assignments, site assignments are removed even if enabled tasks or policies are associated with the package. When a package is unassigned from a site, it is not reassigned at the next package refresh interval, even if an enabled task or policy is associated with the package. A package is reassigned to a site only if a Symantec Management Agent in the site requests the package.
When a package is unassigned from a site, the package servers that hosted the package are no longer assigned as hosts. When a package server updates its configuration, the package is not in the list of packages that the package server should host. The package server then marks the package for deletion. When the package is marked for deletion, the countdown for its deletion begins. The package is deleted when the time that is specified in Delete package files if they are unused for on the Package Service Settings is reached.
You cannot manually remove a package's site assignment on the package's Package Servers tab. If you manually remove a package's site assignment on the package's Package Server tab, the site assignment is restored when you save the changes. You also cannot remove a package's automatic site assignment by modifying the polices that caused the assignment. To remove a package's automatic site assignment, you must use the Remove automatic site assignments if they are unused for setting.
When you check Remove automatic site assignments if they are unused for , it is possible for a package to not get unassigned from a site when the duration that is specified is exceeded. This situation can occur if you used the Package Servers by Site option to assign a package to a site and later changed this option to Package Servers automatically with manual prestaging. Because the initial site assignment was not automatically assigned, the option that removes automatic site assignments does not remove it.
You can check whether Notification Server considers a package to be automatically assigned in the SWDPackageSite table of the CMDB. If the AutoAssigned column for the package has a value of 1, the package is automatically assigned.
Imported Document ID: HOWTO63095
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe