Use the delete command to delete logs, configuration information, and other data. You may want to delete data if disk space is low or to clear configuration data to correct or diagnose a problem. The delete command restarts the Brightmail Engine if necessary after you run the delete command.
You can delete individual files or you can specify one or more components to delete logical groups of files.
Delete the file that you specify. You can only delete the files that you can view with the list command. Specify the entire path to the file as shown by the list command.
Symantec recommends that you delete items by specifying a component instead of deleting individual files. If you delete individual files, you may change the effectiveness or performance of Symantec Messaging Gateway. If you delete log files or temporary files with the delete file file command, some log data may be lost. To delete log files, specify one of the components in the log components group.
If you do delete individual log files with the delete file file command, restart the service that applies to the log file that you deleted. For example, if you delete the Control Center log file Brightmaillog.log, restart the Control Center service. Use the service command or the Control Center to restart a service.
The following components are available and are listed in groups of similar behavior.
Delete all logs in the log component group.
Delete all Control Center logs.
Delete all Message Audit Logs.
Delete all operating system logs.
Delete all Scanner logs.
Delete all configuration data in the configuration component group.
Delete all Control Center configuration files.
Delete all socket files in the
Delete all of the Scanner configuration files for a given Scanner (including support sieve scripts). It does not affect the Scanner configuration information that is stored in the Control Center.
When you run delete scannerconfig, it restarts the appliance on which the command is run. After you run delete scannerconfig, you must recommit Scanner configuration information from the Control Center to disk and relicense your Scanner.
You can recommit the Scanner information to disk unchanged or edit the information to correct potential problems before you save this information to disk. To do either of these tasks, access Administration > Hosts > Configuration in the Control Center, select the Scanner, and click Edit. To recommit the information unchanged, click Save. Alternatively, edit any settings for this Scanner as necessary to correct a problem in the configuration and click Save.
You can delete the Scanner configuration if you change the Scanner configuration of an independent Scanner appliance. Then you can re-add it with the Add Scanner Wizard. This option is not available for an appliance that hosts both a Control Center and Scanner.
Symantec recommends that you do not use delete scannerconfig.
Delete all data in the data component group.
Delete all Control Center data including any license files. Afterwards, your configuration is the same as an out-of-the-box the Control Center configuration.
Delete all directory data service data.
Delete Control Center HTTPS certificates from the keystore.
Delete mail from MTA queues and the following file:
Delete all Symantec Protection Center (SPC) data, and de-register any Symantec Messaging Gateway SPC instance. After using spcdata, you must re-register the Control Center with the SPC server in order to continue using the Control Center with SPC.
Delete all of the files that are related to software updates.
Delete all messages from all quarantines.
Delete all content quarantine and informational messages.
Delete all messages from Spam Quarantine.
Delete all messages from Suspect Virus Quarantine.
Delete all rules and replace them with the factory default rules.
Delete all antivirus rules and replace them with the factory default rules.
Delete all day zero rules and replace them with the factory defaults rules.
Delete all Fastpass rules.
Delete gatekeeper antispam rules and replace with factory default rules.
Delete all intsig rules and replace them with the factory default rules.
Delete IP frequency rules.
Delete regex filter rules.
Delete all spam hunter rules and replace them with the factory default rules.
Delete spamsig rules and replace them with the factory default rules.
The delete command may take half a minute to delete rules. Wait for the command prompt to return before you run additional commands. Do not press Ctrl+C to stop the delete command while it is running.
Delete all logs, configuration data, passwords, support sieve scripts, Scanner data, cores, diagnostic packages, rules, queue data, SPC data, and backup files to restore your appliance to the original factory configuration.
Delete the Scanner access controls made on the Administration > Settings > Control Center page to permit access from all Scanners.
Delete all core directories.
Delete all backups of the Control Center database that were created with db-backup.
Delete all diagnostic packages.
Display a summary of components that you can delete.
Delete the files made by the monitor command.
Delete the BrightmailLog.log file.
delete file /data/logs/bcc/BrightmailLog.log
Delete all messages in the Spam Quarantine.
Delete all Control Center database backup files that are stored on the appliance except for the three most recent backup files.
delete --purge 3 database
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe
Thanks for your feedback. Let us know if you have additional comments below. (requires login)
This will clear the history and restart the chat.