When you delete a Scanner, you permanently remove that Scanner's services from the Control Center. Symantec recommends that you stop a Scanner before you delete it. Otherwise, you can loose the email messages that are in the Scanner email queues. You cannot delete the host on which the Control Center is running. You must have Full Administration rights or Manage Setting modify rights to delete Scanners.
Once you delete a Scanner, you cannot retrieve or access its configuration settings. If you are uncertain as to whether you want to delete a Scanner, you can stop the Scanner. When you stop a Scanner, it still exists but no longer scans messages.