You can restore manual or scheduled backups as needed.
The following are some things you should know about restoring a backup:
You must restore a backup must to the same product version on which it was created.
For a policies only back up, policy group membership backup details must align with the DDS configuration of the Control Center on which you restore the backup.
DDS configuration is not included in a policies only back up, but it is included in full and configuration backups.
For a policies only backup, content filtering policy actions must align with the incident folder configuration of the Control Center on which you restore the backup.
For a policies only backup, after restoration a policy group can contain the LDAP members that do not exist in the configured address resolution data sources.
For a policies only backup, after restoration you must ensure that the policy group members are valid with respect to the configured address resolution data sources.
If you restore a backup from one appliance to a different physical appliance, make sure that the date is set correctly on the new appliance. This verification ensures that messages in quarantine at the time of the original backup are displayed correctly after the restore.
If you enabled the customer-specific spam feature before you performed the backup, if the backup could be restored but the submission settings could not, a message to that effect appears on the login page. To resolve the issue, go to the Spam > Settings > Submission Settings page and click Save. The Control Center synchronizes your settings with the settings on the Symantec server, and thereby restores your customer-specific spam submissions configuration.
After you restore an appliance that functions as your Control Center from a different IP address than the original IP address, restart the appliance. If that appliance also hosts a Scanner, stop the Scanner first.