Entitlement Groups introduced to the ABEV in MySymantec
Last Updated April 16, 2019
MySymantec contains an entitlement management capability located within the ‘My Products’ tab called the Account Based Entitlement View (ABEV for short). The ABEV enables all users associated to an account to see all entitlements purchased by the customer under that account as well as enabling access to software and licence keys to users with the appropriate permissions.
Effective August 12th, 2018, Symantec will introduce a new Entitlement Grouping capability within MySymantec that will allow site administrators to restrict user access to entitlements within an account thereby improving account security.
This new capability will allow site administrators to create a group of entitlements within an account and then allocate a set of users that can view those entitlements. Any users outside of the group will not be able to view the entitlements in their ABEV.
The ABEV after a customer purchase cycle
In the example below, Bill @ Acme Inc (End Customer) buys from Mary @ Skynet (Reseller) who in turn places an order with Symantec. The Symantec ERP platform fulfills the order by sending out a welcome letter and any associated licence keys and serial numbers to all appropriate users.
After the initial purchase cycle is complete, all users associated to the end customer account, Acme Inc, will see all entitlements in their ABEV i.e. Bill, Sue, Joe and Ted will see all entitlements in their ABEV and depending on their access role, they will be able to download the associated software and licence keys.
From the example above, when Sue logs into MySymantec, she will see the following under the ‘My Products’ tab:
What is an Entitlement Group?
An Entitlement Group is used to restrict access to one or more entitlements that belong to an account to one or more users associated to that account. It is created by a Site Admin for that account.
For a reseller account, Entitlement Groups cannot be created using entitlements that have been resold to end customers. They can only be created using entitlements that belong to the reseller.
Note: Access restrictions created by Entitlement Groups apply only to Standard or View Only users whereas a Site Admin can see all entitlements regardless of any entitlement groups.
For example, Bill is a Site Admin for the Acme Inc account and creates three entitlement groups:
SEP team: Serial numbers = #1, #2, Group Member = Sue
Test Lab: Serial numbers = #2, Group Members = Joe, Ted
Finance: Serial Numbers = #3, Group Members = Joe
As a result, Sue will see serial numbers #1 and #2, Joe and Ted will see serial number #2 in their ABEV and Joe will see serial #3 in his ABEV.
How Entitlement Groups impact the ABEV for users
Taking the above example of Acme Inc, after purchase all users associated to that account can see all entitlements in their ABEV. However, after the creation of entitlement groups, the view for each user changes as shown below:
There are three new groups added to the account: ‘SEP team’, ‘Test Lab’ and ‘Finance’ which change the ABEV so that Sue can only see serial numbers #1 and #2, Joe can only see serial numbers #2 and #3 and Ted can only see serial number #2.
Bill is a Site Administrator hence will see all entitlements regardless of any groups.
Access to the Entitlement Group capability
Access to the new capability is via the Entitlement Group option under the ‘Settings’ dropdown menu item in the ABEV yellow menu header as per the screenshot below:
Selecting the ‘Settingsà Entitlement Groups’ tab will bring up the ENTITLEMENT GROUPS page that displays an overview table of all existing groups listed in alphabetical order and grouped under each account where the user is a site admin.
The table shows the group name, group description, the number of entitlements and number of users associated to a group as well as the name of the last user who modified the group.
The ‘Add’ button allows the Site Admin to create a new group whereas the ‘Delete’ button allows them to remove a group at any time. Note these buttons will only be visible to the Site Admin
Edit an Entitlement Group
Editing an existing group is done by selecting the group name which displays the ‘Edit Entitlement Group’ page as shown below.
This page allows the admin to edit the group name, description and modify the entitlements and users associated to this group.
Selecting the Add/Edit button for the table of entitlements displays the ‘Edit Entitlement Table’ page as shown below:
The page displays the following:
A source entitlement table which lists all entitlements associated to the account that are not currently part of this group
A destination entitlement table which lists all entitlements that are currently part of this group.
A set of selection buttons allow the admin to select and move entitlements between both tables
Once all changes are made, the ‘Save’ button will save the group whereas ‘Cancel’ will exit the process without saving any changes.
The site admin can also edit the users by selecting the Add/Edit button on the Table of Users which will display the ‘Edit User Table’ page which is similar to the edit entitlement table as shown above.