DS7.1: When we delete our image or OS Unattended install packages in the Console, the files remain in the file system.
Last Updated September 07, 2012
We've created several images and added OS files for Scripted OS Installations (SOI), and would like to remove them. We've removed these packages from the console, but noticed that didin't free up any disk space. Looking at our file system, we discovered the files for those are still present.
This is actually working as designed, though it can be confusing.
Because the files for both Images and OS files used for SOI's are not stored in the default location for the software library, the packages for these files are little more than external links to the file stores. Accordingly, the files are not removed when you delete the package. Files for packages stored in the Software Library will be removed.
A comparison could be made to a Network Installation of MSOffice. In the NS Console, you might configure a package to utilize this network store point for MS Office, and you might also have some login scripts or other tools that use the installation location. What you would not want to happen though is if you deleted the package in the NS Console, to have the Network Location also purged of it's data files, thus breaking the auto-repair for all the clients. Likewise, these "off site" locations for packages are not removed when the packages are removed from the NS.
The files for these are located in the Clients on each site server, in the following locations:
SOI files: C:\Program Files\Altiris\Altiris Agent\Agents\Deployment\Task Handler\SOI --or-- \\NS-or-SiteServer\Deployment\Task Handler\SOI