Keys become disabled or unverified in PGP Desktop.
This article describes the possible cause(s) and resolution when a key becomes disabled in PGP Desktop. When a key no longer appears in PGP Desktop as
Verified, the key will not be able to be used for encryption until the key is
The key may become unverified and disabled for use when the key has been removed or is not available on the
PGP Global Directory or another keyserver that may have been added to the
PGP Keyservers List in PGP Desktop.
When PGP Desktop is unable to locate the key on the keyserver, the assumption is that the key has been removed from the keyserver and is no longer a valid key.
Note: The default option in PGP Desktop is to Synchronize with keyservers daily.
This may be resolved by disabling the option to
Synchronize with keyservers daily in the PGP Desktop options.
Please use the following steps to disable the
Synchronize with keyservers daily option.
Open PGP Desktop
From the PGP Desktop menu, click Tools>PGP Options..
Select the Keys tab.
In the Synchronization section, remove the check mark from the Synchronize with keyservers daily and click OK.
Imported Document ID: TECH149041
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required.
Thanks for your feedback. Let us know if you have additional comments below. (requires login)
Subscribed to the Article.
Unable to subscribe
Thanks for your additional feedback !!!
Enterprise Support Virtual Agent
Rate Me :
Tell us more:
Welcome! My name is Sami, the Enterprise Support Virtual Agent answering technical support questions.