After installing a new version or re-installing PGP Desktop, the user interface displays an incorrect language.
This issue can appear on systems which the language setting in PGP Options was changed to use another language for the PGP Desktop user interface. Even after uninstalling and reinstalling, the language remains at the language previously specified in the PGP Options.
This is due to a PGP registry string which remains even after uninstalling or updating PGP Desktop. The PGP registry string is only created in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > PGP Corporation > Common folder if the language setting is changed in PGP Options.
Use one of the following to workarounds for this issue:
Edit the PGP Options
Click the PGP Tray icon in the Windows System Tray.
On the General tab in Product Language, change the language to the desired user interface language.
Log off and log back on to update the PGP Desktop settings.
Edit the PGP registry setting
Warning: Incorrectly editing the registry may severely damage your system. Before making changes to the registry, you should back up any valued data on the computer. For more information on backing up the registry see the following article on the Microsoft support site: