"Reboot required" window is not shown if update was installed while no users were logged on.
Last Updated June 28, 2011
If the setting is marked to allow updates to be installed while no users are logged in and Reboot at the end of the Software Update Cycle is checked, no reboot executes until the user logs into the system.
None shown - reboot doesn't happen.
Code change required
This will be resolved in Patch Managment 7.1 SP1 due to release 3rd quarter of 2011.
Until then contact Support for the Pointfix and then use the following instructions (graphical instructions are included in the PointFix file):
Replace the patch management plug-in msi’s on NS server (\Altiris\Patch Management\Packages\Windows Agent\Win32 and Win64). Make sure to put x86 and x64 bit msi’s in their corresponding directories.
Run the Scheduled Tasks: NS.Package Distribution Point Update, NS.Package Refresh and NS.Package Server Status Event. Make sure that Package Servers acquire the updated msi’s and are ready to distribute them.
On NS server, go to Manage –> Filters and navigate to Software Filters –> Windows Computers with Software Update Plug-in Installed.
Clone the filter, make sure to give it a recognizable name.
Press Edit in newly-cloned filter:
Change “like ‘7.1%’” to “like ‘%7.1212%’” line and save changes.
Navigate to Settings –> Agents/Plug-ins –> All Agent Plug-ins –> Software –> Patch Management
In Software Update Plug-in Uninstall policy, remove the default resource target, press Apply to, select Computers, add a new rule and then exclude computers not in the newly created filter.
Enable “Software Update Plug-in Uninstall” policy. Policy schedule “Run once ASAP” should be changed to custom recurring schedule to ensure that old plug-in will be uninstalled and make sure that schedule time not contradicting with installation schedule of “Default Software Update Plug-in Policy”.
Enable “Software Update Plug-in Install” policy. Policy schedule “Run once ASAP” should be changed to custom recurring schedule to ensure that new plug-in will be installed on machines with uninstalled old plug-ins.
Run Complete Resource Membership Update and Policy Filter Update schedules on NS server to make sure that policy filters catch all computers that need to be updated.
Afterwards, the uninstall policy will start to arrive on targeted machines and, once triggered, will remove old versions of Software Update Plug-in. Next, the Install policy will distribute new version of the Plug-in to these machines.
“Software Update Plug-in Uninstall” policy can remain enabled until plug-in is replaced on all machines. You can use filter created in steps 4 - 6 to check the machines with old plug-in installed or you can create a report based on this filter to show this information.
You can change “Software Update Plug-in Uninstall” policy to initial configuration after completed with Software Update Plug-in update to a version with fix.
Patch Management for Windows 7.1
ID: #2350438 - "Reboot required" window is not shown if update was installed while no users were logged on.
Imported Document ID: TECH163448
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe