pcAnywhere Settings - Windows policy may retain a deleted user or group
Last Updated December 06, 2011
If the last user or group is deleted from the pcAnywhere Settings - Windows policy and the policy is saved, then the user or group is removed from the grid shown in the Symantec Management Console, but it still exists in the policy XML data which is distributed to the managed computers.
The following error may appear on managed computers with the pcAnywhere Agent, depending on the policy settings, customer environment, and credentials provided to initiate a Remote Control session:
Invalid Login. Please try again.
[However, note that there are other reasons for that error to occur, and the other reasons are more likely to occur than the issue described in this article.]
There was a defect in pcAnywhere Solution.
Attached is a patch which should be applied to the Notification Server (NS) where pcAnywhere Solution is installed.
To apply the patch:
Logon to NS as the Application Identity account.
Make a backup copy of the existing "Symantec.pcA.Web.dll", by default under C:\Program Files\Altiris\pcA\Web\Bin\, and store it in another location. Symantec ALWAYS recommends backing up any files or folders, especially the Windows Registry before making any changes.
Replace the existing pcAnywhere "Symantec.pcA.Web.dll" file with the appropriate patch file, depending on whether pcAnywhere Solution version 12.5 (for NS 7.0 MR4) or pcAnywhere Solution version 12.6 (for NS 7.1) is installed.
Open a Command Prompt, and run the following command: IISRESET