Customers that manage iOS devices may send Web Clip iOS Configuration profiles to their device(s).
(a sample Web Clip icon on an iOS device)
If that device is then targeted for a "Remove MDM and Reset Agent" action, the iOS device deletes its MDM profile and any associated MDM profiles.This also deletes the content of the web clip profile that was sent to the device. Unfortunately, the icon placed on the device for the web clip remains as a "ghost" icon with no URL.
In addition, if the iOS device is re-enrolled and the same previous profiles are sent back to the device, a second set of web clip icons will appear on the device with the original and new icons appearing active again.
No error messages are displayed on the device when this occurs.
This is working as designed by Apple. When the MDM profile is removed from the iOS device, it also removes the associated Web Clip profile and the icon image file. It does not immediately remove the icon previously representing a shortcut to the web clip.
As a workaround, you can do one of the following:
Have the user reboot the iOS device. The "ghost" icon will be removed.
Remove the "ghost" icon through the normal delete app method... (touch and hold on the icon until it wiggles, tap the (x) on the upper left corner of the icon...)
If the Web Clip was configured to not be user-removable, you will not be able to perform option 2. You must reset the iOS device.
Symantec Mobile Management 7.1 and later versions Apple iOS devices
Imported Document ID: TECH190183
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required.