About Deleting Symantec Mobile Security 7.2 Android Clients
Last Updated March 21, 2013
What happens when an administrator selects an Android device on the Symantec Management Platform (SMP), right-clicks on it, and chooses to Delete?
Deleting will remove a device's records from the management server. The Android device will no longer communicate with the management server and the Mobile Security client will be returned to an unenrolled state that provides no protection.
Once Delete is clicked in Manage Android Devices, a dialog box will pop-up which asks the administrator to confirm deletion. When the admin clicks OK, database records about that device in the SMP are deleted. It will no longer be displayed in the list of Android devices.
The Mobile Security client on the Android device will become unenrolled a time later, as dictated by the interval specified for actions in the Communications tab of the policy that is applied. (Manually checking in from the Android device will cause an instant unenrollment, and Androids which are configured to use Google Cloud Messaging should also experience a speedy unenrollment.) Deleting the client from the SMP will not uninstall the Mobile Security app from the Android, but the Mobile Security client will not function until the device enrolls to a server with valid credentials once again.
The license applied to that device will be recycled in the SMP, decreasing the "In-Use" tally and increasing the "Available" number. Note that this is not an immediate operation. Updated license counts are recalculated periodically by SMP: the accurate number should be seen within one day at most.
Imported Document ID: TECH203931
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe