Feature Request: Warn users when encrypted Netshare (File-share) files are being decrypted.
Last Updated January 30, 2015
Currently when a file is moved to a location outside of the File-share (Netshare) Drive, it is decrypted. This includes actions like attaching to an email, adding to a .zip file and burning to the DVD/CD drive. A warning when decryption will occur would be useful.
Symantec Corporation is committed to product quality and satisfied customers. This Feature Request is currently being considered by Symantec Corporation to be addressed in a forthcoming version of the product.
Technical Support filed a Feature Request to add this product feature. Note that an feature request is exactly that, a request. There is no committed date for this request from the Endpoint Encryption Product Management team, nor from the Endpoint Encryption Engineering team at this time.
Please be sure to refer back to this document periodically as any changes to the status of the request will be reflected here.
A known workaround for this scenario is to use the applications blacklisting on Symantec Encryption Management Server under the File-share Consumer Policy the users are applied to.
For example, if the mail client is Microsoft Outlook, then in the policy, "Prevent the automatic decryption of files by the following applications", add "outlook.exe", as well as "fixmapi.exe". This will then keep the files encrypted when attaching to an email.
For more information on Blacklisting, please see the Symantec Encryption Management Server Administrator's Guide.
Imported Document ID: TECH205372
Subscribing will provide email updates when this Article is updated. Login is required to Subscribe