When VIP Access for Windows, Mac, Android or iOS is installed onto a new device or uninstalled then reinstalled onto the same device, a new credential ID is automatically generated. As a result, the new credential ID generates a security code that is invalid during a login attempt.
A VIP Access credential ID protects accounts and identities by providing a one-time password (OTP) during user logins within an organization. Each credential ID is associated with a particular user and is used when accessing protected resources and online transactions. To protect the identity of the user assigned to a credential, the VIP Access app prevents a credential ID from being copied or transferred from one device or app to another. This includes restoring a full device backup from one device to another.
If the VIP Access app is installed onto a new device, or the app was uninstalled and reinstalled, reach out to the vendor or organization of the resource being accessed. Only they can remove the old credential and register the new. If available, users can do this from the VIP self-registration or My VIP portal with an organization. A user can resume 2-factor authentications only after registering the Credential ID.