Always back up your Management Center configuration before upgrading or downgrading. Then, store the backup off-box. This ensures that you can restore your configuration if you experience problems with upgrading or downgrading.
Important Considerations for Management Center 2.0 Software Image Installation
Due to some major changes to the underlying systems Management Center relies on, there are several points to note:
All backups are erased on upgrade to 2.x.
Backups are not compatible, transferable, or preserved on upgrade between 1.x and 2.x. This is because backups created in version 1.x are not compatible with 2.0 or later for the following reasons:
Downgrades from 2.x to 1.x are not supported.
Backup encryption changed.
Upon upgrade from a 1.x release to 2.x, the enable password will be set to the same password previously set for the admin account in the CLI. Immediately after upgrading, change this password from the (config)# mode with the command # authentication enable-password.
The new system will generate a new, unique public SSH RSA key.
If you have SSL mutual authentication enabled prior to upgrading, you will need to reconfigure it.
The initial upgrade will take up to ten minutes to complete. Wait for upgrade to complete - any interruption in the upgrade process may result in instability.
Downgrades to 1.x from 2.x will not retain your 2.x configuration. The system must be reset using factory restore defaults, and a 1.x backup of the configuration (if available) must be restored.